Her Sparkle Will Never Fade

My daily regimen consists of a thankful prayer upon waking, 20 – 30 minutes of stretching or exercise to wake my body up, affirmations of positive vibes to exude into the universe, and, of course, a beauty & fashion routine. With Mercury being out of retrograde, I was sure the next few weeks would be filled with nothing but good news.

This morning I followed the norm, but the sparkle that I normally bask in was interrupted with the incredibly sad and heart wrenching news of the passing of an incredibly talented and amazing individual who I am proud to say I was able to share time with during this life of hers.

Olamide Anibabe (otherwise known as “Lamie”) lived and breathed positivity and motivation. Her friends and family were able to see how beautiful she was inside and out by her willingness to contribute to celebrations, encouraging words, and strength through the end of her life.

Lamie made her 30th milestone birthday on June 25th of this year where she posted the following words of wisdom on her Instagram page:

How do I begin?! To me age is just a number. It is your experience…the quality of life….your testimony that determines your growth as a person. This has been the most difficult year for me since the start of 2015. I am living proof that your whole life can change within a blink of an eye. Short story….For two months straight, I’ve been in and out the hospital to the point where the doctors were telling me not to worry about a 30th birthday due to failing health. I got to a point where I stopped planning my life…my future because according to them, it was a wrap. But I’ve been blessed with the best birthday gifts EVER! The gift of faith, healing, support, true friendship, love and a testimony. Family and friends on duty every day, constantly reminding me that God is the first physician, grocery shopping/cooking for me, co-monitoring my diet, chauffeuring/wheel-chairing me around to get fresh air and telling me “I need my Lamie back!” For each time I heard those words, I pushed! I can go on but you get the picture. There’s some people who prefer a small circle and that’s fine. I’ve been blessed with a big positive circle because of the energy that I attract. This was darkest time of my life and I would say that about 95% of my roses were there! I have nothing but gratitude for all of them…I wish I could give them the world! The highest praise is to God…He is responsible for the look on the doctor’s face when they said, ” We didn’t expect this progress!” I cry tears of joy at least 4 times a week because I can’t believe that all I had to do was believe! I would like to thank you all for the birthday wishes, calls, texts and messages while I was out the country celebrating life! I mean that from the bottom of my heart. You never know what people are going through and how something so small can mean a whole lot. No filter, no hash tag…my testimony…my life. God is real!

Her testimony was everything at the moment and means so much more to me now.

Age is just a number and you should not be defined by such…instead look to the heart of the person, their lessons, their experiences, their energy, and their level of positive vibes they put into the universe. While so many others are worried about superficial and mundane things of the world, the ones truly yet quietly suffering are the ones always smiling and secretly fighting to win against all odds.

Her legacy will live forever through those that knew her and couldn’t help but love her, friends, and family.

RIP Beauty.

lami2

This may be the most personal post that I decide to write about on this site…however, if my readers are inspired, moved, or encouraged in some way, this will open the door for more of these stories that have moved me.

To support Lamie’s family during this most difficult time, prayers and condolences are welcome, as well as assistance to give her the most proper home-going.  To learn more on Lupus and how you can support those suffering, please visit www.lupus.org.

For more fun blogs and random thoughts about lifestyle, fashion, and entertainment, follow me on all social media sites @LeanaShenise.

Don’t forget to visit and share www.LeanaSheniseBlog.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

